Florida reopens on Monday, Palm Beach, Miami-Dade and Broward counties will be excluded


Florida slowly reopens on Monday, Palm Beach, Miami-Dade and Broward counties will be excluded.

DeSantis says Phase One of his “Smart. Safe. Step-By-Step” plan will go into effect Monday; May 4. The plan will go into effect Monday in every county except Dade, Palm Beach and Broward counties, where most of the state’s COVID-19 cases have reported, DeSantis said.

Schools will continue virtual learning during Phase One. It announced earlier this month that distance learning would continue for the remainder of the school year. That reiterated in Wednesday’s announcement. “If someone tests negative and they want to go see one of their parents, maybe you let them in,” he said, adding that a visitor taking the antibody test may also work.


Restaurants and stores being allowed to operate at 25% capacity. Eateries will be allowed to seat people outside, but they will have to maintain 6 feet of social distancing and elective surgical procedures will be permitted to resume.

Gov. DeSantis says Phase One will not change anything with bars, personal services like hair salons. Movie theaters will also stay closed for the time being. The governor says theaters were technically allowed in Phase One, but he decided to be more cautious. Gyms and fitness centres shall remain closed along with the prohibition on vacation rentals.

Everyone asked to maximize their physical distance from others. The governor is recommending people wear face coverings if they’re interacting face-to-face with someone and can’t social distance. Gov. DeSantis says social distancing recommendations are still in place. For more politics news click here.