SpaceX’s Launch for 143 Satellites Delayed due to Bad Weather

SpaceX’s Launch for 143 Satellites Delayed due to Bad Weather
SpaceX’s Launch for 143 Satellites Delayed due to Bad Weather

SpaceX’s mission to launch 143 satellites on a single Falcon-9 Rocket failed today due to the bad weather condition. The company was targeting a 9:40 a.m. EST (1440 GMT) launch for the Transporter-1 mission but aborted it six minutes before scheduled blast-off due to poor weather conditions. Saturday’s launch in Florida had a 42-minute window, opening at 9:40 a.m. on the East Coast, according to the company’s launch website. SpaceX will attempt the launch again on Sunday (Jan. 24) at 10 a.m. EST (1500 GMT) from Space Launch Complex 40. SpaceX in January also delayed a launch for its Starship rocket prototype, after its first attempt exploded on the landing pad.

SpaceX announced the delayed news on its official twitter handle. They announced it as “Due to unfavorable weather, we are standing down from today’s launch; the team will continue with the countdown until T-30 seconds for data collection. Another launch attempt is available tomorrow, January 24 with a 22-minute window opening at 10:00 a.m. EST”.

Off the 143 satellites 133 assorted small satellites and 10 of the company’s Starlink internet satellites. When it launches, the mission will hold the record for most satellites deployed from a single rocket. The launch would have broken ISRO’s world record of launching most satellites on a single mission. In 2017, ISRO’s PSLV had successfully launched 104 satellites on a single mission.

On Friday, SpaceX CEO Elon Musk said he was excited for the launch, which is part of a new ride-share program to provide small satellite operators affordable access to space. “Launching many small satellites for a wide range of customers tomorrow,” he wrote on Twitter. “Excited about offering low-cost access to orbit for small companies!”.